The OCEAN APPROVED® Label

Evaluate the impact of your activities on the Ocean

Image intro

The Ocean Approved label, first international label for companies dedicated to preserving the Ocean

The magnitude of recent changes in our planet’s climate system, and the current state of many aspects of this system, are without precedent in the last centuries or even millenia (IPCC, 2021).

The Ocean, the primary climate regulator, is the primary victim of global warming: warming and sea level rise, acidification, loss of oxygen, and loss of the ocean’s future effectiveness as a carbon pump. The ocean also suffers from various forms of pollution such as plastics, microplastics and chemical pollution.

Oceanic challenges, although they are intrinsically linked to climate and biodiversity issues that often accompany company transformations, remain under-addressed.

Yet all companies, regardless of their sector of activity, have a relation to the ocean and are likely to have a significant impact, whether direct or indirect: greenhouse gas emissions, garbage waste, plastics, wastewater discharge, marine resource extraction, and more.

The Ocean Approved label is based on a continuous improvement process that aims to identify the company’s impacts on the ocean, and reduce or even eliminate them.

You too can join the community of organizations taking action to protect the Ocean.

CLIMATE

The Ocean: first climate regulator.

A true thermostat for the planet, it heats up and cools down very slowly. It can store heat at 1000 times the atmospheric capacity. By absorbing 30% of the CO2 emitted by humans, the ocean also reduces greenhouse gas effects and limits atmospheric warming.

The Ocean: first victim of climate change.

The warming and acidification of oceans caused by human activity affect the thermal mechanics of our entire planet. They also cause large-scale migration of marine species, and the weakening or even the disappearance of vulnerable ecosystems.

BIODIVERSITY

The Ocean is a biodiversity reservoir.

To date, only a small part of this biodiversity is known. And yet, it is crucial to human well-being and health: it represents the primary protein source for 1 billion people, and contributes to half of all cancer treatments.

Biodiversity is in danger:

As a result of climate change, all forms of water pollution, and the unsustainable exploitation of its resources, marine biodiversity is threatened: as evidenced by the disappearance of half of our corals, and mass extinctions of fish species and marine mammal species.

ECONOMY

The world economy depends on healthy oceans.

One in two humans lives within 60 km from the sea, and 61% of global GDP is generated by activities located less than 100 km from the coast. Over 90% of world trade transits through sea and ocean routes. In France, the ocean contributes the equivalent of 14% of GDP to national wealth. Globally, the total ecosystem value of the ocean is estimated at more than $ 20,000 billion USD. Overexploitation of the oceans, climate change and loss of marine biodiversity pose a serious threat to this economic resource and to the hundreds of millions of associated jobs.

News

Sabine Roux de Bézieux

Director
Fondation de la Mer

« The sea is at the heart of our planet’s equilibrium. We all need a healthy Ocean and we can no longer delay our action. Fondation de la Mer is committed with resolve, leaning on all those who share this conviction. »

Françoise Gaill

Emeritus Director of Research
CNRS

« It is urgent for us to go beyond the international agreements of the 20th century. Our objective is for all agents, public and private, to mobilize under this global cause. The Ocean represents the geostrategic issue and challenge of this century; therefore, we must preserve it. »

Thierry Coquil

Director of Maritime Affairs
French Ministry of the Sea

« Preserving the Ocean represents much more than duty for generations to come: it’s a matter of survival. All companies play a major role in this, even those that may not directly depend on the Ocean. The Framework helps them understand, and act. »

By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies.

Le label OCEAN APPROVED®

Evaluer l'impact de votre activité sur l'Océan et s'engager

Image intro

Le label Ocean Approved, premier label international pour les entreprises dédié à la préservation de l’Océan

L’ampleur des changements récents dans l’ensemble du système climatique et l’état actuel de nombreux aspects du système climatique sont sans précédent depuis des siècles voire des milliers d’années (GIEC, 2021).

L’Océan, le principal régulateur du climat, est la première victime du réchauffement climatique : réchauffement et élévation du niveau de la mer, acidification, perte d’oxygène, et perte d’efficacité future de l’océan dans son rôle de pompe à carbone. L’Océan souffre également de pollutions diverses telles que les plastiques, microplastiques et les pollutions chimiques.

Les défis  océaniques, pourtant intrinsèquement liés aux enjeux climat et biodiversité qui accompagnent la transformation des entreprises, sont encore trop peu traités. 

Or toutes les entreprises, tous secteurs d’activités confondus, ont un lien avec l’Océan et sont susceptibles d’avoir un impact significatif, qu’il soit direct ou indirect : émissions de gaz à effet de serre, déchets, plastiques, rejets d’eaux usées, prélèvements de ressources marines et plus encore.

Le label OCEAN APPROVED® de la Fondation de la Mer repose sur une démarche d’amélioration continue qui vise à identifier les impacts de l’entreprise sur l’Océan, et les réduire voire les annuler. 

Vous aussi rejoignez la communauté d’organisations qui agissent en faveur de l’Océan.

Climat

L’Océan :  premier régulateur du climat.

Véritable thermostat de la planète, il se réchauffe et se refroidit très lentement. Il peut stocker une quantité de chaleur 1000 fois supérieure à celle de l’atmosphère. Par l’absorption de 30% du CO2 émis par l’activité humaine, l’Océan combat aussi les effets de serre et limite le réchauffement de l’air.

L’Océan : première victime du changement climatique.

Le réchauffement et l’acidification des océans provoqués par l’activité humaine affectent l’ensemble de la mécanique thermique planétaire. Ils provoquent aussi la migration d’espèces marines, et la fragilisation voire la disparition d’écosystèmes fragiles.

Biodiversité

L’Océan est un réservoir de biodiversité.

A ce jour, seule une faible partie de cette biodiversité est connue. Mais elle est déjà précieuse pour le bien-être et la santé des êtres humains : première source de protéines pour 1 milliard de personnes, elle contribue aussi par exemple à la moitié des traitements contre le cancer.

Cette biodiversité est en danger :

A cause du changement climatique, de toutes les formes de pollution des eaux et de l’exploitation excessive de ses ressources, la biodiversité marine est menacée : en témoigne la disparition de la moitié des coraux et de nombreuses espèces de poissons et de mammifères marins.

Économie

D’un océan en bonne santé dépend l’économie mondiale.

Un être humain sur deux vit à moins de 60km de la mer, et 61% du PIB mondial est généré par les activités implantées à moins de 100km des côtes. Plus de 90% du commerce mondial transite par voie de mer, et en France la contribution de la mer à la richesse nationale représente l’équivalent de 14% du PIB. Au niveau mondial, la valeur écosystémique totale de l’Océan est estimée à plus de 20 000 Milliards de dollars. La surexploitation des océans, le changement climatique et la perte de la biodiversité marine représentent une menace pour cette valeur économique et les centaines de millions d’emplois associés.

Actualités

Sabine Roux de Bézieux

Présidente
Fondation de La Mer

« La mer est au cœur des équilibres de notre planète. Nous avons tous besoin d'un Océan en bonne santé et nous ne pouvons différer davantage notre action. La Fondation de la Mer s'y engage avec détermination, en s'appuyant sur tous ceux qui partagent ces convictions »

Françoise Gaill

Directrice de Recherche émérite
CNRS

« Il est urgent d'aller au-delà des accords internationaux du XXe siècle. Notre objectif est que tous les acteurs, publics et privés, soient mobilisés pour cette cause mondiale. L'Océan sera l'enjeu géostratégique du siècle, aussi faut-il que nous le préservions »

Thierry Coquil

Directeur des affaires maritimes
Ministère de la Mer

« Préserver l’Océan est bien plus qu’un devoir pour les générations à venir : c’est une question de survie. Toutes les entreprises y ont un rôle majeur à jouer, même lorsqu’elles ne dépendent pas directement de l’Océan. Le Référentiel leur permet de comprendre et d’agir »

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies.